DEI Success: UH selected for AGU Bridge program

The UH Earth and Atmospheric Sciences Department was selected as one of 15 new partner departments for the AGU Bridge program for 2021. 54 departments applied in total.

Our AGU Bridge application was led by Department Chair Tom Lapen and our Department Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee faculty: Jonny Wu (chair), Emily Beverly, Julia Wellner, and Jiajia Sun.

Link to official AGU announcement

The AGU Bridge Program seeks to increase diversity in the geosciences by providing students from historically marginalized populations who are looking to pursue a master’s degree or Ph.D. with a network of peers, mentors and advisers to support and serve them before, during and after graduate school. AGU Bridge Program partners are drawn from geoscience departments at universities and institutions around the country that are seeking to increase diversity in their departments, adopt best practices in admissions and retention of students, and create a welcoming culture within the greater Earth and space sciences community. These departments partner with AGU to provide opportunities and guidance to students from historically marginalized populations.